Office of Academic Services and Retention

Petitions


Academic regulations are established by the University to maintain and enforce academic standards, and are rigorously adhered to. Petitions are requests for an exception to an academic rule or deadline, and are only granted under special and unique circumstances. Any student has the right to petition to waive a regulation. The University similarly has the right to disapprove any petition on the grounds that the circumstances are not compelling enough to warrant an exception to the established regulation.

After consulting with your adviser, you must file your petition with the dean of your school (see below). The request must be in writing and you must document the extraordinary circumstances that necessitate the petition. The dean may approve or deny the petition, after which it is forwarded to the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs for a final decision.

Exemptions from a rule are generally granted only once, so you must fully consider all ramifications of your action. Approval of an academic petition does not result in any corresponding financial credit or refund. Such requests must be filed with the University Cashier and Billing Office/Collections. For more information, please contact 516.877.3270.

Any student petition for retroactive action must be submitted within one academic calendar year. Any student petition requesting a medical withdrawal must be submitted during the semester to which it applies.

Depending on your academic department, your petition should be forwarded to the appropriate dean, as listed below.

Honors College
Richard Garner
Dean
Earle Hall
p - 516.877.3800
e - garner@adelphi.edu


ABLE Program
Shawn O'Riley
Dean
Hagedorn Hall of Enterprise, Room 201H
p - 516.877.3400
e - oriley@adelphi.edu

Emily Wilson
Assistant Director
Hagedorn Hall of Enterprise, Room 201H
p - 516.877.3400
e - wilson@adelphi.edu


College of Arts and Sciences
Ruth McShane
Assistant Dean
Science Building, Room 127
p - 516.877.4121
e - mcshane@adelphi.edu


Derner Institute

J. Christopher Muran

Associate Dean,
Postgraduate Programs & Ph.D Programs
Hy Weinberg Center, Room 303
p - 516.877.4803
jcmuran@adelphiedu

Francine Conway
Associate Professor,
Chair of Undergraduate Department

Blodgett Hall, Room 212A
p - 516.877.4752
e - conway2@adelphi.edu

Jacques P. Barber
Dean
Hy Weinberg, Room 301
p - 516.877.4806
e - jbarber@adelphi.edu

Errol Rodriguez
Assistant Dean,
Director of Masters Program

Blodgett Hall, Room 208
p - 516.237.8572
e - erodriguez@adelphi.edu

School of Education
Patricia Ann Marcellino
Interim Assoc. Dean for Academic Affairs
Harvey Hall, Room 110
p - 516.877.4090
e - marcelli@adelphi.edu


College of Nursing and Public Health
Patrick Coonan
Dean
Alumnae Hall, Room 220
p - 516.877.4511
e - coonan@adelphi.edu

Stephen Holzemer
Associate Dean
Alumnae Hall, Room 212
p - 516.877.4565
e - holzemer@adelphi.edu

Jane White
Associate Dean
Alumnae Hall, Room 216
p - 516.877.4599
e - white@adelphi.edu

School of Social Work
Andrew Safyer, Ph.D.
Dean
Social Work Building,
Room 201
p – 516.877.4345
e – asafyer@adelphi.edu 

Sergio Argueta
Director of Undergraduate Social Work
Social Work Building, Room 225
p – 516.877.4362
e – sargueta@adelphi.edu

Bradley D. Zodikoff
Associate Dean
Social Work Building, Room 221
p - 516.877.4439
e - zodikoff@adelphi.edu

A. Rodriguez
Student Affairs Coordinator
p - 516.877.4407

School of Business

Brian Rothschild
Assistant Dean
Hagedorn Hall of Enterprise, Room 121
p - 516.877.4684
e - rothschild@adelphi.edu




---
Contact
For additional information, please contact:

Office of Academic Services and Retention
Levermore Hall, Room 303

p - 516.877.3150
f - 516.877.3141

Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
*extended hours during registration periods*
Friday: 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Summer/Winter or when classes are not in session: 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.


This page was last modified on April 10, 2014.
---
^ Back to Top of Page