Campus Advisory Classes are in session remotely through the end of spring semester. Our satellite centers in Manhattan, Hudson Valley and Suffolk County are closed; however, all staff and units are accessible remotely. Adelphi's Garden City campus is operational with only essential personnel on-site. » COVID-19 Response

Coronavirus Updates on Operations: Department or campus operations may be modified during this time. Please call or email the department for more information or visit



Understanding the Disciplines

Be aware of specific expectations of your school or major.

The University is divided into a number of schools, colleges, divisions and departments, each with its own research methods, formal conventions, and ideas about how best to use sources. Four areas are traditionally recognized: sciences (chemistry, biology, physics), social sciences (anthropology, sociology, economics), humanities (philosophy, history, English) and arts (music, sculpture, theatre). There are also professional schools (social work, nursing, business) that use many of the methodologies of the social sciences but have as their aim professional development and training.

These divisions are important to understand because you will find yourself writing very different kinds of papers as you take classes in the various areas. Expectations for uses of evidence will vary, as will conventions for incorporating and citing sources. In the sections that follow, pay close attention to remarks made in reference to one or the other of the divisions.


For further information, please contact:

Writing Center
Nexus Building, Room 129
p - 516.877.3200
e -

Apply Now
Request Information